Costruendo un Mausoleo

Ho iniziato a costruire un “mausoleo” per l’omonimo scenario di Frostgrave. Le richieste sono: almeno 6 pollici di lato, una porta su ogni lato. Non trovando nulla di adatto ho deciso di costruirlo da zero, principalmente usando poliplat da 5mm.
I’m building a “mausoleum” for the Frostgrave scenario of same name. The requirements are: at least 6 inches wide and a door on each side. Not finding anything suitable, I decided to build it from scratch, mainly using 5mm foamcore.
Ho anche deciso di mantenere la struttura il più semplice possibile, sia per sbattermi meno, ma soprattutto per non perdere interesse durante la costruzione: meglio un edificio un po’ semplice ma finito e utilizzabile, che un progetto ambiziosissimo lasciato a metà.
I also decided to keep the structure as simple as possible, so that I’ll not lose interest during construction: better a building a tad simple yet finished and usable, that an ambitious project left unfinished.


Ho buttato giù un abbozzo di progetto su carta a quadretti e son passato subito a realizzarlo.
I jotted down a draft sketch on squared paper then immediately started building it.

Frostgrave: scratch-building Mausoleum, 1
Per prima cosa, ho disegnato e tagliato le quattro pareti principali.
First things first, I drew and cut the four main walls.

Frostgrave: scratch-building Mausoleum, 2
Poi le ho assemblate e ho rinforzato la struttura con quattro “piloni” di polistirolo agli angoli, che funzioneranno anche come sostegni per il tetto.
Then I assembled the main structure and reinforced it with four “pillars” of polystyrene at the corners, which will also function as supports for the roof.

Frostgrave: scratch-building Mausoleum, 3
Ho disegnato e tagliato i quattro elementi che contraddistingueranno le facciate del mausoleo e ospiteranno le porte.
I’ve then designed and cut the four elements that will ornate the facades of the mausoleum, and host the doors.

Frostgrave: scratch-building Mausoleum, 4

Frostgrave: scratch-building Mausoleum, 5Ho quindi applicato un po’ di dettagli e danneggiato un po’ la struttura.
Infine ho aggiunto una mezza sfera che un amico mi ha procurato.
I then applied a some details and damaged a bit the whole structure.
Finally I added a plastic half-sphere that a friend found for me.

Modello finito. Ora devo solo trovare il tempo (e una bella giornata) per dipingerlo.
Model done. Now I just need the time (and a nice day) to paint it.

5 pensieri su “Costruendo un Mausoleo

  1. Looks great so far, Gabbi. It also looks like it could well work across more than a few different games besides Frostgrave – from 40k to Bolt Action to Saga – which is always a plus in my book!

    • Thanks! Maybe for 40K it’s a bit lacking in skulls :P but sure it’s a structure I’m going to use outside the Frostgrave scenario I’ve built it for. I don’t know if the four doors make any sense, but hey it’s fantasy wargaming, isn’t it? ;)

  2. Meh, not everything needs to be covered in skulls. That’s a modern diversion designed to sell those Imperial city kits while Blanche sniffs too much glue. Imperial architecture should cover everything from the aforementioned skull-buildings to classical & neo-classical architecture to the brightest shining skyscrapers of Singapore (think Ultramar) to featureless Soviet-style apartment blocks. Your building looks great!

    • Thanks mate!
      Regarding skulls, I totally agree: it was just a joke. If wasn’t for the stupidly huge skull on them, I would had already purchased the new whatever-Reactor from 40K line.

Lascia un commento